It annoys me a lot when people call me ‘innocent’. 

Please don’t assume that just because I don’t advertise my traumas or tell people about my problems that I have not had them. Please don’t assume that because I smile and laugh loudly that I am always happy and don’t have any internal battles. 
Please do not take me for face value. I am a human being. Not some 1 dimensional character from a tv show who represents a single ideology or character trait. Believe it or not, I’m a bit more complicated than what you see on a day to day basis. Believe it or not, some memories and emotions I hide on purpose; there are some things I simply don’t want people to know about me. 

So don’t belittle me, call me innocent, naive, childish. That is the most innocent, naive and childish assumption a human being could make about a peer. 

It annoys me a lot when people call me ‘innocent’. 

Leave a Reply

