Struggles of the ‘idealistic’

For so long now I feel like I’ve been asleep. People tell me I’m a dreamer, with my head in the sand, preaching equality, too good to be true. 

And I believe them. How could a world so cruel ever become the Utopia that so many dream of?

But recently I have realised that the only reason I can even see this utopia is because of perspective. I have trained my mind in a way others haven’t; I truly understand the phrase ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ and I have seen beauty in everything. 

So no, I don’t think my head is in the sand. I think my head is in the right place, above social pressures and guidelines which have been forced on me since birth. It’s all perspective, and those who draw out barriers between the good and the ugly are the ones who need to wake up. They are the ones who’s minds have been dulled by the millennia of racism, sexism, ageism and ableism. They are the ones who have their head in the sand. 

Struggles of the ‘idealistic’

Leave a Reply

